2017 Winners

Keep Irving Beautiful will host the annual “Mayor and KIB Annual Awards” reception on Monday, August 7, 2017, at the First Baptist Church of Irving.  Thirteen awards will be given in ten different categories.  Honorees are:

Youth Leadership Award:  Boy Scout Troop 508

Educator Award:  Kelly Giddens, Barton Elementary

Educator Award:  Brandon Morton, North Lake College

Faith Group Award:  Baptist Benevolent Ministries of Irving (BBMOI)

Business and Industry Award:  FASTSIGNS Irving / Las Colinas

Business and Industry Award:  Verizon

Media Award:  Greater Irving/Las Colinas Chamber of Commerce

Civic Organization:  DFW Humane Society

Lifetime Achievement Award:  Shareen Altum

Green Government Award: City of Irving Water Utilities Department

Civil Servant Award: Detective John Schingle, Irving Police Department

KIB Hometown Award:  Barry Allen

KIB Hometown Award:  David Palmer

In addition, recipients of the 2016 Keep America Beautiful Awards and the 2017 Keep Texas Beautiful Awards will be honored.  Keep America Beautiful (KAB) presented awards at their annual National Conference in Washington, D.C., where the City of Irving Code Enforcement Department won First Place in the Overall Community Improvement category.  Keep Texas Beautiful (KTB), with over 350 affiliates statewide, presents awards in numerous categories at its annual State Conference each June. Those nominated by Keep Irving Beautiful included:  City of Irving Code Enforcement, which received a Second Place in the Government Program category.

Keep Irving Beautiful was also honored this year at both the state and national level.  KIB received the President’s Circle Award from Keep America Beautiful and was one of only five affiliates to receive the Sustained Excellence Award.  KIB continued to maintain the Gold Star level with Keep Texas Beautiful, and also received the Sustained Excellence Award for the tenth consecutive year.

Congratulations to all our winners.

Be Sociable, Share!