2014 Winners


Keep Irving Beautiful will host the annual “Mayor and KIB Proud Partners Awards” reception on Monday, August 11, 2014, at the First Baptist Church of Irving. Eleven awards will be given in 10 different categories. Honorees include:


Youth Leadership Award (individual): Jenny Maique

Youth Leadership Award (group):  Alpha Zeta Eta Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Educator Award: Christa Slejko, North Lake College

Faith Group Award: Chris Carathers, Irving North Christian Church

Business and Industry Award: Contech Engineered Solutions

Media Award: Deborah Fleck, Dallas Morning News

Lifetime Achievement Award: Helen Chaplin

Civil Servant Award: Chief Victor Conley, Irving Fire Department

Green Government Award: Dr. Elba Garcia

KIB Hometown Award: Monica Ellington

KIB Hometown Award:  Allan Meagher


In addition, recipients of the 2014 Keep Texas Beautiful and Keep America Beautiful Awards will be honored. Keep Texas Beautiful (KTB), with over 350 affiliates statewide, presents awards in numerous categories at its annual State Conference each June. Those nominated by Keep Irving Beautiful included Emma’s House, which received the Citation of Merit in the Civic Organization Program Category,  the City of Irving Housing and Human Services Department, which won Honorable Mention in the Government Category, and Jim Scrivner, Energy Manager of the Irving ISD, who won First Place in the Sadie Ray Graff Educator Awards, Administrator Category.  In the KAB National Awards, VHA, Inc. was honored with a Distinguished Service Citation in the Business and Industry Category.

Keep Irving Beautiful was also honored this year at both the state and national level.  KIB received the President’s Circle Award from Keep America Beautiful as well as a 2nd place Affiliate Award in the 200,000+ population category for the third consecutive year.

KIB continued to maintain the Gold Star level with Keep Texas Beautiful, and also received the Sustained Excellence Award for the seventh consecutive year.  The biggest honor for KIB and the entire community was winning the Governor’s Community Achievement Award in population category 10, which included a $310,000 landscaping grant from the Texas Department of Transportation.

Congratulations to all our winners.

Be Sociable, Share!