2010 Winners



  •  Helen Bradley Youth Leadership Awards: Karina Cedillo
  •  Helen Bradley Youth Leadership Awards: Nimitz Junior Historians
  •  Jack Singley Education Award: Elliott Green Team Teachers
  •  Dr. George W. Susat Senior Citizen Award: Don and Helen Rice
  •  Faith Group Award: South MacArthur Church of Christ
  •  R.M. Hudson Business and Industry Award: VHA, Inc. and Frito-Lay Irving Facility
  •  Iron Eyes Cody Media Award: The Irving Rambler
  •  Schulze-Brown Individual Leadership Award: Doris Dickey
  •  Gregg Mays Green Government Award: City of Irving Solid Waste Services
  •  Ben Carpenter Vision Award: TXU Energy
  •  KIB Hometown Awards: John Halsey
  •  KIB Hometown Awards: Gary Whitehead


In addition, local winners of 2010 Keep Texas Beautiful Awards were honored. Keep Texas Beautiful (KTB), with over 350 affiliates statewide, presents awards in numerous categories at its annual State Conference each June. KTB award winners nominated by Keep Irving Beautiful included the City of Irving Code Enforcement Department, First Place in the Government Category, and Sally B. Elliott Elementary’s 5th Grade Green Team, Honorable Mention in the Youth Leadership Category. The Parks and Recreation Department, Irving Rambler, and Las Colinas Association all received Citations of Merit. Keep Irving Beautiful and the City of Irving received the highest honor from KTB and TxDOT as this years’ Governor’s Community Achievement Award (GCAA) winner in the largest population category. Irving will receive $310,000.00 in a landscaping award to be used along a TxDOT right of way in the city.

Be Sociable, Share!