2009 Winners

Awards were presented on August 3, 2009 by Mayor Herbert Gears and the Keep Irving Beautiful Board to the following:
Helen Bradley Youth Leadership Award: Maria Ramirez, Juan Ramirez, and the Woodmeade/Estelle Creek Kids Club (Tom and Andrea Wall, leaders)
 Jack Singley Education Award: Sherry Martinez (MacArthur High School)
 Dr. George W. Susat Senior Citizen Award: Jan Schriefer  
 Faith Group Award: Knights of Columbus Council 5243
 R.M. Hudson Business and Industry Award: Glory House Catering (Jo Ann Goin)
 Iron Eyes Cody Media Award: The Irving Rambler
 Schulze-Brown Individual Leadership Award: Lorraine Taylor
Frank Pate Law Enforcement Award: City of Irving Code Enforcement
 Gregg Mays Green Government Award: City of Irving Central Receiving
 Ben Carpenter Vision Award: Best Buy Tag Teams, stores 1032 and 205
KIB Hometown Awards: Nelle Ann Hunt and Kaye Whitehead 

In addition, local winners of 2009 Keep Texas Beautiful Awards were also honored.  First Place KTB awards winners included the Irving Lake Association (Civic Groups Category), the Irving Rambler (Media Category) and the Alpha Zeta Eta Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at North Lake College (Youth: Colleges and Universities Category). The City of Irving’s Code Enforcement and Parks and Recreation Departments received third place and honorable mention, respectively, in the Government categories.



Be Sociable, Share!